

PAGE 1 OF 2

DATE: 01/04/2022

SUBJECT: RECEIVE AND FILE THE AUDITOR'S REPORT OF THE CASH COUNTS FOR THE JUSTICE OF THE PEACE COURTS

*** CONSENT AGENDA ***

COMMISSIONERS COURT ACTION REQUESTED

It is requested that the Commissioners Court receive and file the Auditor's Report of the Cash Counts for the Justice of the Peace Courts.

BACKGROUND

In accordance with Local Government Code, the Auditor's Office completed a surprise cash count of all Justice of the Peace Court locations on November 14, 2021. The objective of the review was to determine whether cash and other remittances reconciled at the time of the cash count and safeguards were in place to protect County assets.

FISCAL IMPACT					
There is no fiscal impact associated with this item.					

SUBMITTED BY:	Auditor Office	PREPARED BY: APPROVED BY:	



TARRANT COUNTY

TARRANT COUNTY ADMINISTRATION BUILDING - ROOM 506 100 E. WEATHERFORD FORT WORTH, TEXAS 76196-0103 817/884-1205 Fax 817/884-1104

S. RENEE TIDWELL, CPA COUNTY AUDITOR rtidwell@tarrantcounty.com

KIM BUCHANAN, CPA
FIRST ASSISTANT COUNTY AUDITOR
kmbuchanan@tarrantcounty.com

December 15, 2021

The Honorable District Judges
The Honorable Commissioners Court
Tarrant County, Texas

Re: Auditor's Report – Cash Counts of the Justice of the Peace Court Precincts 1 – 8

In accordance with the Local Government Code, the Auditor's Office completed a surprise cash count at all Justices of the Peace (JP) Court locations on November 14, 2021. The objective of our review was to determine whether cash and other remittances reconciled at the time of the cash count and safeguards were in place to protect County assets. No overages/shortages were identified during the count.

We appreciate the cooperation of the JP staff during our review. If you have any questions concerning this report, please do not hesitate to call.

Sincerely

S. Rénee Tidwell, CPA County Auditor

Distribution:

Honorable Ralph D. Swearingin, Jr., Justice of the Peace, Precinct 1 Honorable Mary Tom Curnutt, Justice of the Peace, Precinct 2 Honorable William P. Brandt, Justice of the Peace, Precinct 3 Honorable Christopher Gregory, Justice of the Peace, Precinct 4 Honorable Sergio L. De Leon, Justice of the Peace, Precinct 5 Honorable Jason Charbonnet, Justice of the Peace, Precinct 6 Honorable Kenneth Sanders, Justice of the Peace, Precinct 7 Honorable Lisa R. Woodard, Justice of the Peace, Precinct 8