Online Services Government
  • Departments
  • Commissioners Court
  • Elected Officials
  • Courts
  • Justice of the Peace Courts
  • Constables
  • Residents Visitors Business Employment

    How To Apply

    The Tarrant County Housing Assistance Office is preparing to open their Section 8 Wait List.

    Pursuant to 24 CFR 982.206, Tarrant County Housing Assistance Office (TCHAO) hereby gives notice that individuals and families may apply for tenant-based assistance in the Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) Section 8 Program.


    The Wait List will:

        OPEN      at 12 Noon (CST) on Tuesday, March 14, 2017, and

        CLOSE   at 11:59 p.m. (CST) on Thursday, March 16, 2017.

    Applications will be received by TCHAO electronically (on-line) ONLY, during the above stated period, and accepted for screening and eligibility.

    Anyone who does not have access to a computer is encouraged to visit their local library or use one of the two agency computers at theTarrant County Housing Assistance Office -- 2100 Circle Drive, Fort Worth, TX  76119 -- on a first-come, first-serve basis at these times:

        Tuesday, March 14, 2017, from Noon to 6 p.m.

        Wednesday and Thursday, March 15 and 16, 2017, from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.

        Staff assistance will be available upon request.

    TCHAO will preference at time of application the following:

        1.  Elderly and Disabled (Head of Household, Spouse or Co-Head)

        2.  Tarrant/Navarro County residents first

    Applicants will be contacted at a later date to determine eligibility.

    All Applicants will receive an Application Receipt please PRINT and KEEP this receipt for your records.  On your receipt you will see an AssistanceCheck PIN number. After April 1, 2017, you have the option to sign up on AssistanceCheck to check your status and keep their contact information updated by going to   

    Applications will be received and placed on the Wait List in accordance with the TCHAO Administrative Plan.

    Tarrant County Housing Assistance Office practices Fair Housing on a non-discriminatory basis.