Online Services Government
  • Departments
  • Commissioners Court
  • Elected Officials
  • Courts
  • Justice of the Peace Courts
  • Constables
  • Residents Visitors Business Employment

    North Central Texas HIV Planning Council Standards of Care

    Standards of Care are the minimum requirements that programs are expected to meet when providing HIV/AIDS care and support services funded by Tarrant County. Providers may exceed these standards.

    The objectives of establishing standards of care are to provide high quality care and support to people living with HIV/AIDS. The establishment of standards of care will ensure programs:

    • Provide services that improve health outcomes of people living with HIV along the HIV Care Continuum with the overall goal being viral suppression;
    • Provide clients with high quality care through experienced, trained, qualified and, when appropriate, licensed staff;
    • Have policies and procedures in place to protect clients’ rights;
    • Meet federal, state and local requirements regarding safety, sanitation, access, public health and infection control;
    • Guarantee client confidentiality, protect client autonomy and ensure a fair process of client grievance review and advocacy;
    • Provide services that are client centered, trauma informed and culturally and linguistically appropriate;
    • Comprehensively inform clients of services, establish client eligibility and provide equitable access to services;
    • Provide coordinated care and referrals to needed services;
    • Are accessible to all eligible people living with HIV/AIDS;
    • Provide services to historically underserved populations, including but not limited to women, children, youth, transgender and gender non-conforming individuals and people of color;
    • Incorporate harm reduction principles whenever possible; and
    • Ensure clients apply and receive services that are free of discrimination based on race, color, sex, gender, ethnicity, national origin, religion, age, class, sexual orientation, housing status, and physical or mental ability.

    Standards of Care